Concept

 André Manoukian and Pascal Armand take up the challenge of creating in the heart of Chamonix a House of Artists, with a jazz club, a recording studio and a record label.

Chamonix is an ideal place of creation, both in the world and away from the crash.
The mountain is a source of inspiration, celebration, gathering.

André Manoukian

Facing Mont Blanc on its mound, demonstrating physical remnant of the glacial history of the Chamonix valley, the original house full of history only wanted to find his soul and to offer once again to Chamonix unforgettable moments. The project builds on the very particular architectural character of the house.

La Villa des Amethysts, later called la Tournette, was built in 1926 by architect Debry for brothers Joseph and Julius Couttet, both son of François Couttet said Baguette, founder of the “Great hotel and Couttet Park”. This unusual villa is related to Art Nouveau in its composition and its original form. With a total area of ​​450m², it is built on 5 levels and is composed of multiple parts with very different shapes.
The weathervane, still present at the top of the house, represents two small ski characters. It is an evocation of the two brothers Couttet, bringing from Norway, with Michel Payot, skiing and its practice in the Chamonix valley.

After belonging to Mrs. Aimée Barrat (widow Joseph Couttet), Mr. Jacques Salmon and his wife Denise Barrat, Mrs Marie-Pierre de Cossé-Brissac, la Tournette is purchased by Maurice Herzog, Mayor of Chamonix from 1968 to 1977. The latter retains ownership until 2000, when the town of Chamonix, exercising its pre-emptive right, bought the house and the adjacent park. Maurice Herzog keep the enjoyment of the premises until 2002.

Artists Residencies

La Maison des Artistes, artists residency dedicated to musical creation, offers in a park located in the heart of the city an exceptional tool, including 6 rooms to accommodate the musicians.

The availability of the recording studio is free, as well as accommodation for the duration suitable to carry a musical project term (3 to 10 days). In exchange, the artists prowl their creation in the Club every evening offering a concert at an informed public.
The musicians retain ownership of their masters. If they do not have a label, we help them find one.
We can also edit them on our own Label: “Mad in Cham!”

A literary residence will be offered every two years to a French or foreign author to write his work in Chamonix.

Technique


Featuring the most efficient recording equipment and an acoustic arrangement for recording live concerts as well as genuine phonographic productions, the studio is composed of:

  • a control room,
  • an outlet enclosure,
  • a cab pickup of speech,
  • a “convertible” living room,
  • a scene on the floor of the Jazzclub.

 

  Download Plan & technical sheet


The living room and the stage are connected to the control which allows to use them as taking rooms and can record everything together with professional quality. The complex is equipped of speakers in the centerpieces of the house, allowing to listen to the recording session or concert.

Studio Equipment

Console : Neve VR48
Speakers : Meyer Sound HD1
Recorder : Pro Tools HD9 48in/48out

Effects – Plug-ins

Waves SSL suite
Izotope RX and Ozone 5 suites

Effects – Hardware

tc electronic reverb 4000

DI Box

Avalon U5
BSS AR 133 X5

Concept

André Manoukian et Pascal Armand relèvent le pari de créer en plein cœur de Chamonix une Maison des Artistes, avec un club de Jazz, un studio d’enregistrement et un label discographique.

Chamonix est un lieu idéal de création, à la fois dans le monde et loin du fracas.
La montagne est source d’inspiration, de célébration, de rassemblement.

André Manoukian

Face au Mont-Blanc sur son tumulus, vestige physique témoignant du passé glaciaire de la vallée de Chamonix, cette maison originale chargée d’histoire ne demandait qu’à retrouver son âme et pouvoir offrir à nouveau aux Chamoniards des moments inoubliables. Le projet s’appuie sur le caractère architectural très particulier de la maison.

La Villa des Améthystes, appelée plus tard la Tournette, a été construite en 1926 par l’architecte Debry pour les frères Joseph et Jules Couttet, tous deux fils de François Couttet dit Baguette, fondateur du «Grand hôtel Couttet et du Parc». Cette villa atypique se rattache au style art nouveau par sa composition et sa forme originale. D’une superficie totale de 450m², elle est édifiée sur 5 niveaux et est composée de multiples pièces aux formes très diverses.
La girouette, toujours présente au sommet de la maison, représente deux petits personnages à ski. Elle est une évocation des deux frères Couttet rapportant de Norvège, avec Michel Payot, le ski et sa pratique dans la vallée de Chamonix.

Après avoir appartenu à Mme Aimée Barrat (veuve Joseph Couttet), à M. Jacques Salmon et son épouse Mme Denise Barrat, à Mme Marie-Pierre de Cossé-Brissac, la Tournette est achetée par Maurice Herzog, maire de Chamonix-Mont-Blanc de 1968 à 1977. Ce dernier en reste propriétaire jusqu’en 2000, date à laquelle la mairie de Chamonix, exerçant alors son droit de préemption, rachète la maison et le parc attenant. Maurice Herzog conservera la jouissance des lieux jusqu’en 2002.

 

Résidence d’Artistes

La Maison des Artistes, résidence d’artistes dédiée à la création musicale, propose dans un parc situé en plein cœur de la ville un outil d’exception, dont 6 chambres pour accueillir les musiciens.

La mise à disposition du studio d’enregistrement est gratuite, ainsi que l’hébergement, pendant la durée qui convient pour mener à terme un projet musical (de 3 à 10 jours). En échange, les artistes rôdent leur création dans le Club en offrant chaque soir un concert à un public averti.
Les musiciens conservent la propriété de leurs masters. S’ils n’ont pas de label, nous les aidons à en trouver un.
Nous pouvons aussi les éditer sur notre propre Label : « Mad in Cham ! »

Une résidence littéraire sera offerte une année sur deux permettant à un auteur français ou étranger d’écrire son oeuvre à Chamonix.

Technique


Doté du matériel d’enregistrement le plus performant et d’un aménagement acoustique permettant d’enregistrer les concerts live ainsi que de véritables productions phonographiques, le studio est composé :

  • d’une régie,
  • d’une cabine de prise,
  • d’une cabine de prise de voix,
  • d’un salon «convertible»,
  • d’une scène située à l’étage du Jazzclub, au-dessus de la régie et du salon.

 

  Télécharger le plan & la fiche technique


Le salon et la scène sont reliés à la régie ce qui permet de les utiliser comme salles de prise et de pouvoir enregistrer tout concert avec une qualité professionnelle. Le complexe est équipé d’enceintes de diffusion dans les pièces maîtresses de la maison, ce qui permet d’écouter la session d’enregistrement ou bien le concert.

Équipement du Studio

Console : Neve VR48
Écoutes : Meyer Sound HD1
Enregistreur : Pro Tools HD9 48in/48out

Effets – Plug-ins

Suite Waves SSL
Suite Izotope RX et Ozone 5

Effets – Hardware

tc electronic reverb 4000

DI Box

Avalon U5
BSS AR 133 X5